Are you a “people person” with strong relationship skills? Consider a rewarding and exciting career in real estate. If negotiating deals and being in control over your success fits your personality and career dreams, then San Jacinto College’s real estate program may be the perfect place to jump start your career!
Studying real estate opens doors to many careers, including:
Real Estate Broker: $85,751
Real Estate Sales Agent: $62,273
For more salary information, check out Texas Wages.
There are many to choose from including real estate agent, broker, appraiser, inspector, leasing agent, property manager, loan officer, and commercial property specialist just to name a few.
Real estate agents are independent contractors and work under the supervision of a licensed broker. Agents earn money by commissions on the sales they make. If you don’t sell anything then you don’t make any money. If you sell a lot of homes, then you’ll make a lot of money. The amount of money you make is really up to you and how hard you want to work. The average first year real estate agent earns less than $20,000, however, the average experienced agent with at least five years of experience can earn more than $60,000 a year, with many agents earning more than $100,000 a year. The potential is there if you have a business plan and work hard at marketing yourself.
A sales agent is a person who is licensed by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) to act as an agent on behalf of a real estate broker and their clients. A sales agent must be sponsored by a licensed broker to perform any act of real estate services. They are also required to renew their license every two years.
To apply for your license, you must meet the following qualifications:
Submit the application and fee to become a Sales Agent using TREC's Online Services.
If you do not already have a username and password for the Online Services, you should
register online or apply for the Sales Agent license using TREC's paper application.
You are required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of
Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed. Fingerprints on file for
other agencies will not be accepted. A license will not be issued if the background
check has not been passed. Expect a delay if you are notified of an investigation
into your background history.
You must prove completion of a total of 180 classroom hours (30 classroom hours per
course) of the following qualifying real estate courses:
License exams are administered by PearsonVUE, a testing service company. You will
be sent a notice with instructions for scheduling the exam and obtaining a copy of
the exam Candidate Handbook. If you fail the exam three times, additional education
will be necessary.
After meeting the above requirements, you will be issued an inactive license. You
need to be sponsored by an active Texas licensed broker to work. You can complete
a sponsorship request using TREC's online services. Once the broker has accepted the
request, an active license will be issued, and you can work as a sales agent.
Once you become a sales agent, you will have to renew your license every two years. A renewal notice will be sent out about 90 days before the expiration date. Until you receive this notice of renewal, you cannot renew your licenses. As part of the renewal process, you must complete certain continuing education courses to help you deliver competent and quality real estate services. After completing course work, you are welcome to submit a course and instructor evaluation.
You may renew your license up to six months after the expiration date. After six months and up to two years past the expiration date, you may apply for reinstatement of the license. After two years past the expiration date, you will have to reapply and pass the examination.
If you're renewing for the first time, active or inactive, you must have the following education requirements posted to your license record before you submit the renewal:
You may submit qualifying course completion documents to TREC at least 10 days before renewing your license. Qualifying credit will not be granted if you were previously given credit for a substantially similar qualifying course within a two year period.
You may not defer SAE requirements. The license will not be renewed until you complete the required education.
Complete 18 hours of approved Continuing Education (CE) courses:
If TREC records do not reflect completion of CE requirements at the time you submit the renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE Deferral Fee, or renew in inactive status. Payment of the CE Deferral Fee allows you to remain active for an additional 60 days from the expiration date to complete CE requirements. To receive the additional 60 days to complete any outstanding CE, the CE Deferral fee must be paid before the expiration date of the license. Deferral does not apply to sales agents renewing for the first time.
If your license expires, you cannot renew until CE requirements are met and you have paid the CE Deferral Fee. If you complete CE more than 60 days after the license expiration date, you will be subject to an additional late reporting fee of $250.
If you have not submitted fingerprints for TREC with a previous renewal or application, you must be fingerprinted for a criminal background check.
You may renew the license on inactive status without completing CE. You cannot engage in real estate brokerage activity with an inactive license.
How to renew online:
How to renew by mail:
To apply for your license, you must meet the following qualifications:
Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) recipients do not qualify as a lawfully
** Applicants may consider requesting a Fitness Determination form before applying for the license.
You must prove completion of a total of 270 classroom hours (30 classroom hours per course), including the following mandatory real estate courses:
An additional 630 classroom hours in related qualifying courses acceptable to TREC or approved Continuing Education (CE) courses are also required.
A bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university satisfies all of the related education requirements for a broker license. A copy of the college transcript awarding the degree must be submitted as evidence of completion of the degree.
You may submit course completion documents to TREC after applying online or with a paper application. After completing course work, you are welcome to submit a course and instructor evaluation.
You must also meet the following experience requirements:
You are required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed. Fingerprints on file for other agencies will not be accepted. A license will not be issued if the background check has not been passed. Expect a delay if you are notified of an investigation into your background history.
License exams are administered by PearsonVUE, a testing service company. You will be sent a notice with instructions for scheduling the exam and obtaining a copy of the exam Candidate Handbook. If you fail the exam three times, additional education will be necessary.